Macpac Microlight Hiking Tent — One Person
114084-Master

Images

Macpac Microlight Hiking Tent — One Person, Kiwi, hi-res
Zoom

Details

Macpac Microlight Hiking Tent — One Person

114084-KWI00-OS
NZ$699.99 NZ$489.99
Shop now. Pay it in 4. Always interest-free. Info

Variations

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Add to Wishlist
Delivery Options
Standard Delivery

In Stock

FREE on orders over $100
FREE Click & Collect Change my store
Enter Town or Postcode to find the nearest Click & Collect store.
The field is empty
No Click & Collect stores found, please try an alternative location
Why we made this
A single-person transalpine hiking tent, the four-season Microlight is durable and comfortable in alpine environments.
  • Product Description
    Ideal for solo adventurers, the four-season Microlight Hiking Tent is engineered to minimise weight, maximise durability and provide aerodynamic stability in high winds. Effectively shedding snow in alpine environments, the Microlight has a single ridge pole, Multi-Pitch™ design. The Multi-Pitch™ system offers ultimate versatility, allowing you to pitch the fly and inner together or separately — or alternatively, you can pitch the fly and inner at the same time while still connected. The waterproof UV30™ SI fly is made from a silicone-coated nylon fabric known for its strength, water resistance and UV protection. It has a 3,000 mm hydrostatic head. Please note, this fly needs to be manually seam sealed with the provided SilNet™ seam sealer. A Torrentwear™ XP tub floor design is both waterproof and durable, keeping the water out and removing the need for a separate footprint. One DAC Featherlite NSL pole is included — these poles are developed through DAC's 'green anodizing' process which helps to minimise toxic chemicals in the production process, which is better for workers and the environment. A single vestibule provides space for cooking and some gear storage, while the double door, internal mesh and four vent system improves airflow in warmer climates. The best choice for solo adventurers wishing to comfortably camp in alpine conditions, the durable Microlight is warmer (and slightly heavier) than the Sololight Hiking Tent by comparison.
  • Design features
    Single person transalpine hiking tent with single-pole Multi-Pitch™ design
    Waterproof UV30™ SI fly has a 3,000 mm hydrostatic head — please note, is fly needs to be manually seam sealed with SilNet™ seam sealer (provided)
    Torrentwear™ XP floor is waterproof with a 10,000 mm hydrostatic head
    Waterproof 'tub floor' design to eliminate need for separate footprint
    One DAC Featherlite NSL pole for strength and stability — green anodised to help minimise toxic chemicals in production process
    Internal mesh and large double-door system for improved airflow
    Single vestibule for cooking and gear storage
    Internal mesh pockets for organised living
  • Product Specifications
    Outer FabricUV30™ SI 100% Nylon Ripstop, 30D with Silicone coating — needs to be manually seam sealed with SilNet™ seam sealer (provided)
    Tent Inner Fabric100% Nylon Ripstop (40D)
    Outer Fabric Hydrostatic Head (mm)3000
    Floor FabricTorrentwear™ XP 100% Nylon (70D/210T with PU coating) — 10,000 mm Hydrostatic Head
    Floor Area (m2)2.1
    Pole TypeDAC Featherlite NSL 9.6 mm
    Pole Count1
    Pitching SystemMulti-Pitch™  
    Persons1
    Vestibule Size (m2)1.2
    Dimensions HxWxD (cm)41 x 14 (rolled size)
    Weight (g)1600 (Max), 1400 (Min)
  • Care
    Always dry tent components before storing
    When required, clean your tent with pure, non-detergent soap or Nikwax® Tech Wash® and a soft-bristled brush or sponge
    Do not machine wash
    Rinse well and dry in a well-ventilated area out of direct sunlight
    After washing, we recommend that you reproof the fly with Nikwax® Tent & Gear SolarProof®
    UV damage — do not leave tent pitched in direct sunlight for longer than necessary
    Hot surfaces — do not pitch tent on hot surfaces as can cause blistering of fabric
    Repairs — fabric patches and a pole repair sleeve are included for temporary repair
    Contact Macpac Repairs Department for permanent repair — see ‘Warranty & Repairs’ link under the Help section for more information

4.3 / 5.0
46 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
24
14
6
1
1
Good little tent.
With a bit of fiddling it is easy to pitch without the outer pulling down on one corner and without the inner sagging. These seem to be a problem to other people. There is enough space to sleep comfortably and store equipment that needs to be kept dry or safe inside. The vestibules are of an adequate size. I have found the tent good and quiet in moderate winds if pitched correctly orientated and I have not had any condensation problems. It has kept me warm and dry. It is a little heavy for a modern 1p tent but that is the price you pay for a durable floor. I have enjoyed using it.
August 29, 2020
Best one man tent on the market.
Best one man tent on the market, period. Slept in this for one week in Fiordland in heavy rain and snow. No issues, warm and dry. Have had two people in it and a dog when caught out. Cooked under the vestibule.
July 29, 2020
I have used this tent three times so far but I won't be using it again.
This tent is an emergency tent, best used as a back up for travel between huts. It's completely impractical outside of severe weather. The condensation is horrific even with vents open, my sleeping bag and mat were soaked in the morning and there is practically no room to move inside, it a it like an oversized bivy bag.I am 176cm tall and on top of my sleeping mat I couldn't even sit up to get changed in the tent. The fly on its own is a better option for summer and mild spring and autumn conditions. Yes it is very light, yes it will keep you alive in a storm, outside of that you won't enjoy it.
July 28, 2020
Got mine in 1993 in UK.
Bought mine for a trip in 1993 when I was single. Last used it about 3 years ago. Family a little big now but my son (14y) wants to use it in the summer.
July 11, 2020
Loved it but dissapointed that it seems to have perished when it in use
Just pulled my microlight out after been stored for nearly ten years. Have it a hose down (not highly pressured) and the silicon coating came peeling off... Anyone else had this trouble... Pretty disappointed as i was finally going to take it for a multi day solo. Any suggestions please
March 9, 2020
Trustworthy and easy to manage.
My third microlight in thirty years. An excellent and trustworthy tent for all seasons.
January 11, 2020
Great Tent Shame About Sag
Great little light tent for my back country work. Already been in heavy Taranaki rain and nice and dry. Fits me and my kiwi dog in (just) with him sleeping on my pack. I like the vestibule space and big view when the zip is open. But there seems to be a design flaw. Even when pitched on flat surface (eg my lawn when seam sealing) there is a droop/sag in one corner which cannot be remedied by tension etc. This applies to the fly and inner. Very annoying. And a BIG shame which means it doesn't get 5 stars. Surely this can be fixed MacPac?
January 8, 2020
Purchased
9 months ago
Response from Macpac
Hi Joanna, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can see our Customer Care Team have reached out to you via email 10/1 to offer assistance. It is likely a pitching issue, which should be easily solved. Any further issues please do drop us an email @ customercare@macpac.co.nz
February 12, 2020
Customer C
Still going after over twenty years.
I brought mine around 1991 I think, I've used it ever since. It's been to the far north half a dozen times and use for weekends year round in Scotland. I've two newer lighter one man tents but they are a bit delicate and can't take strong winds like the Microlite. I like the speed it can be erected and it's weatherproofness I've never been wet in this tent. When I first got it I had a play around with the tension on the pegging out points mainly on the inner, since then I've not had a problem with sagging inner. I'm 180cm tall and can just sit up in the middle of the hoop. There's enough room for me and my rucksack, boots etc and have somewhere to cook.
December 22, 2019
Robust, easy to pitch, and not too heavy. You can’t go wrong here.
I am very pleased with my choice of tent - the Macpac Microlight - after agonising over the decision for so long. (The Macpac Sololight was the other main contender, but in the end I chose durability over lightness.)

I slept in my Microlight for the second time the other night. This was a second test run to see how well it performed, but this time I deliberately chose a night when I knew it was going to rain. And it rained alright. It absolutely hosed down. But I stayed warm and dry all night.

The Microlight is robust, easy to pitch, and not too heavy. It has plenty of room for one person, it is a breeze to pitch and take down, and the Multipitch system offers incredible versatility.

I was aware of three potential issues people had identified with the Microlight, but I found all of them were either easily resolved or were non-issues.

The first was that the limpet shape resulted in minimal living space. While it is true that the shape does significantly reduce the internal volume, I found I had plenty of room. I put my boots, poles and cooking gear etc. in the vestibule, and there was plenty of room inside the tent for my pack, clothes, and stuff I needed to keep completely dry.

The second was condensation. I observed this myself the first time I used it, but this time I completely resolved it simply by leaving the inner door very slightly open at the top.

The third was sagging. But I found this was not an issue because I took the time to pitch it properly.

All up, if you want a versatile and robust one person tent, you can't go wrong with the Microlight.

If your most important consideration is travelling light over summer, you might be better off with the Sololight. But if you don’t want to be limited by the seasons and you want something that is going to stand up to whatever the weather might throw at you, the Microlight is well worth the extra couple of hundred grams.

I had wondered for months whether I had made the right decision here. Now I know I did.

Darryl Ward
October 21, 2019
187cm tall
I have had this tent for several years and it has served me well. Nice and light and warm, easy to pitch and pack up. I am 187cm tall with medium build so I it is only just big enough for me.
October 19, 2019
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 7 questions Browse 7 questions and 9 answers
Is there enough room for 2 people?
Jacob on Feb 1, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Hi Jacob, this tent is designed as a one person tent. Two people would be a bit of a squeeze.
Quick question, as for the seam sealing, would there be any chance of someone in store to do it? I'm worried that I could ruin the tent and would much prefer a professional to do it.
Reon M on Aug 13, 2020
BEST ANSWER: Hi Reon,

This is not something that we normally do as the tent needs to sit for around 2 days for it set. You could ask your local store and see if anyone would be able to assist.

Thanks,
The Macpac Team
Is there a recommended end to have your head at? The schematic diagram on this page shows the head at the narrower end. But the video shows the head at the wider end.

I have tried both options with my Microlight, and I can see benefits with each of them. Having my head at the wider end gives me more headroom, while having my head at the narrower end means I can fit a pack inside and more easily access the vestibule without getting out of my sleeping bag.

But I would be interested to know which way is recommended. And what other people's preferences are.
St Dismas on Aug 2, 2020
BEST ANSWER: Hi Darryl,

I have asked our Product Development team and they have said that there is no recommended way of sleeping and is a personal preference.

Thanks,
The Macpac Team
Hello
Would there be enough room to be able to sneak in and zip up the vestibule so I can take my wet raincoat off under shelter... without wetting the sleeping area? Thanks Karyn
Karyn B on Jul 23, 2020
BEST ANSWER: Hi Karyn,

The room in the vestibule would be slightly too small to be able to do this. This space is mostly for storing you pack and giving you a small amount of room to be able to use your gas stove.

Thanks, The Macpac Team
Hi, I like the quick pitch time of this one but am after a two person, 4 season hiking tent. Would would you recommend? Thanks Regan
Regan S on Mar 7, 2020
BEST ANSWER: Hi Regan,

We would recommend checking out the Olympus.

The four-season Olympus tent is designed to support two people and their gear above and below the snowline. Warmer than the two-season Duolight tent, but also heavier, the Olympus is the best choice if you value durability and wish to use a tent in full alpine conditions. If you are looking for a three-season tunnel tent, the slightly smaller Minaret may be a better option.

Kind regards
The Macpac Team
I am 201cm (6'7") so tent length is a big issue. What are the dimensions of the floor?
Peter C on Sep 4, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Hello Peter,

2200mm x 1300mm and height 1000mm.

Kind regards,
Macpac Team
Would the Microlight be large enough for a normal sized guy and a medium size dog?
Sean R on Apr 21, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Some great advice from customers there Sean. Out 2 cents...….If you don’t mind your pack being stored in the vestibule (there is enough space for this, but it can get in the way of the door) then yes. Inside the inner of my Microlight I can fit myself (180cm, 70kg) and my 65ltr pack and it's pretty snug. Thanks.